Government Jobs | Results | Admit Cards

List of Indian States and Capitals with Map, Union Territories

Indian States and Capital Cities with map

India is the world’s seventh-largest country by land area and the world’s second-most populous country. It is located in the southern part of Asia. The Republic of India is the official name for the country. The government in the country is in the form of a parliamentary system. It becomes challenging to manage a big country from a single location. This article contains a list of the Indian states and the capitals of each state.

India is governed by a parliamentary system and is the world’s most populous democracy. It is a national constitutional republic with a parliamentary system of government. Indian states and union territories are divided into 28 provinces and eight union territories. Each state and union territory in India have a capital that serves as the administrative, legislative, and judicial hub. This court serves both the Union territories of Jammu & Kashmir and the Tibetan region of Ladakh.


List of Indian States and Capitals (in alphabetical order):


State Capital
Andhra Pradesh Amaravati
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
Assam Dispur
Bihar Patna
Chhattisgarh Raipur
Goa Panaji
Gujarat Gandhinagar
Haryana Chandigarh
Himachal Pradesh Shimla
Jharkhand Ranchi
Karnataka Bengaluru
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
Maharashtra Mumbai
Manipur Imphal
Meghalaya Shillong
Mizoram Aizawl
Nagaland Kohima
Odisha Bhubaneswar
Punjab Chandigarh
Rajasthan Jaipur
Sikkim Gangtok
Tamil Nadu Chennai
Telangana Hyderabad
Tripura Agartala
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow

Dehradun (Winter)

Gairsain (Summer)

West Bengal Kolkata

The following is a brief explanation of the differences between the various types of capitals.

  • An administrative capital is a city in which all of the headquarters of the executive branch of government are housed in one location.
  • A legislative capital is a city in which the state assembly meets regularly.
  • The city in which the territorial high courts are situated is known as the judicial capital.

Many people are unaware of the overall number of States / Union Territories in India and the locations of their respective capitals. This article will provide you with the most recent information on the Indian states and capitals. India currently has 28 states and eight union territories, for 31 states and eight union territories. Each state in India has a worth that serves as its administrative, legislative, and judicial center. Some states have one capital where all three processes are carried out. There is a Chief Minister in charge of each state. This section covers the list of Indian states, union territories, and their respective capitals.

State and local governments in every state and two union territories, Puducherry and the National Capital Territory of Delhi, are governed and governed by elected representatives. One Chief Minister is voted into office for just a five-year term and is in charge of the entire state. By the States Reorganisation Act of 1956, the government reorganized each state according to its language.

Indian States and Capitals

A final tally of 28 states and eight union territories make up the country of India.

In 2000, three new states were formed. Those are Chhattisgarh from Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand from Bihar and Uttaranchal from Uttar Pradesh. Telangana was then created from Andhra Pradesh in 2014.

According to the most recent census, India currently has 28 states and eight union territories. The former state of Jammu and Kashmir has been divided into two Union Territories (UTs), J&K and Ladakh, with the former state of Kashmir as the administrative center. The government established the newly created union territories due to a reorganization act on the 5th and 6th of August, 2020. India currently has eight Union Territories (UTs).

India’s States and Capitals are depicted on this map.

You can look at the most current political map of India, which shows the total amount of states and union territories in India and the locations of their capitals at the time of writing.

India Map with States

India Map


States and Capitals: Some Points to Keep in Mind

After obtaining a list of Indian states and union territories and their respective capitals, let us first consider how to distinguish between a state and a union territory. Three union territories in India, namely Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry), and Jammu and Kashmir, have their legislatures, making them the only ones in the country with their legislatures. Each union territory and state has its capital, designated as the state capital.

Please look at the most recent updates on the Union Territories and their capitals before continuing with our tour of the territories.

Since January 26, 2020, India has had eight union territories. It has been decided to amalgamate the union territories of Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli into a single union territory.

According to the central government’s announcement on August 5, Jammu and Kashmir’s special status granted under Article 370 would be terminated and divided into two Union Territories, namely the Jammu and Kashmir Union Territory and Ladakh Union Territory.

With the amalgamation of Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the number of Union Territories (UTs) has been reduced to eight.

As responsible people, we should be familiar with the names of India’s states and capitals. The conditions and means of the United States are frequently asked as Based Concept Questions in various competitive exams held throughout the country.



Q 1. What is the total number of states in India?
Answer: India is a federation of 28 states and eight union territories that make up the nation.

Q 2. What is the total number of union territories in India?
Answer : At the moment, there are 8 union territories in India.

Q 3. Which territories of the European Union were merged in January 2020?
Answer : The union of Daman and Diu with Dadar and Nagar Haveli takes effect immediately.

Q 4. Which state has been divided to create a union territory?
Answer : Jammu and Kashmir have been divided into two union territories: Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh Union Territories.

Q 5. What is the name of India’s capital city?
Answer : India’s capital is located in the city of New Delhi.

Q6. How do I find out who is in charge of the Union Territory?
Answer: The Union Territory is led by a Lieutenant Governor, who serves as its leader.




Leave a Comment